The advisory committee

The Parliamentary Ombudsman Act and the Instructions for the Parliamentary Ombudsman for Public Administration stipulate the appointment of an advisory committee, which is to contribute expertise and advice to the NPM’s preventive work.

The committee was established in spring 2014. It is comprised of 15 members representing organisations with expertise in areas that are important to the preventive work, such as human rights, children, equality and anti-discrimination, user experience from different sectors and conditions for various groups of people who are deprived of their liberty.

The National Preventive Mechanism and the advisory committee meet four times a year, and maintain a continuous dialogue as needed.

Rådgivende utvalg 8. mai 2017
The advisory committee  8 May 2017

Current member organisations of the advisory committee

  • The National Human Rights Institution
  • The Equality and Anti-Discrimination Ombudsman
  • The Ombudsman for Children
  • The Norwegian Bar Association's Human Rights Committee
  • The Norwegian Medical Association, represented by the Norwegian Psychiatric Association
  • The Norwegian Psychological Association's Human Rights Committee
  • The Norwegian Organisation for Asylum Seekers (NOAS)
  • The Norwegian Association for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (NFU)
  • Juss-Buss (free legal aid service run by law students)
  • The Norwegian Association of Youth Mental Health
  • We Shall Overcome
  • The Norwegian Research Network on Coercion in Mental Health Care (TvangsForsk)
  • The Norwegian Helsinki Committee (NHC)
  • The Retretten Foundation
  • Amnesty International Norway